Lifetime member of the Chinese & Foreign Jow Ga Martial Arts Federation

Holidays & School Closings

Holiday Schedule

Inclement Weather Policy

Classes will be cancelled whenever adverse weather conditions are predicted that would make travel hazardous. As a general rule, since it may be difficult to notify students beforehand in a timely manner, the Institute will follow Fairfax County's schedule of school closings for inclement weather. For inclement weather during weekends, we will adhere to the policy used by Fairfax County Department of Parks and Recreation for classes conducted at County RECenters.

Although the Institute may remain open for informal practice, regularly scheduled classes will be cancelled at our Headquarters as well as all satellite locations for all federal holidays.

Holidays for 2017

  • January 16 -- Monday, Martin Luther King Day
  • January 28-- Saturday, Chinese (Lunar) New Year
  • February 20 -- Monday, President's Day
  • April 16 -- Sunday, Easter
  • May 14 -- Sunday, Mother's Day
  • May 27-29 -- Saturday-Monday, Memorial Day
  • June 18 -- Sunday, Father's Day
  • July 4 -- Tuesday, Independence Day
  • September 2-4 -- Saturday-Monday, Labor Day
  • October 9 -- Monday, Columbus Day
  • November 11 -- Saturday, Veteran's Day
  • November 23-25 -- Thursday-Sunday, Thanksgiving Holiday
  • December 16 -- Saturday, Holiday Party
  • December 23-25 -- Saturday-Monday, Christmas Holiday
  • December 30-January 1 -- Saturday-Monday, New Year's holiday